Licensed attorneys in Minnesota are required to
continue their education throughout their careers. The mandatory continuing
legal education requirement was established by the Minnesota Supreme Court,
which has the power to regulate the practice of law in Minnesota. The
regulations are contained in the Rules of the
Minnesota Board for Continuing Legal Education.
The Rules establish a State Board of Continuing Legal
Education to administer the mandatory CLE system. The Board consists of twelve volunteer members
appointed by the Court, plus a chair. The Board employs a permanent salaried
staff to handle day to day administration. The staff consists of an Executive
Director, a CLE Administrator and two staff members who handle CLE matters
The mandatory CLE system in Minnesota is based on the
following fundamental principles:
Attorneys must attend 45 hours of accredited CLE
courses during their three-year reporting period. Credit may also be earned by
teaching (including preparation time).
Attorneys must complete 2 Elimination of Bias
hours and 3 Ethics hours as part of the 45-hour requirement. Other
special rules apply as well.
No more than six hours of credit may be claimed
for law office management courses.
In 2004, a category in Professional Development
was added. Attorneys may claim unlimited hours in this
Upon application and fee payment of $35, the
Board accredits courses presented by independent sponsors and individual law
firms. The Board compares the course description and supporting material with
the requirements set out in the Rules, and awards credit hours
The Board must review all courses; there is
no reciprocal accreditation for courses approved in other
Attorneys are responsible for keeping their own
Attorneys certify their compliance by filing hard
copy affidavits listing the courses they have attended or by submitting
attendance information online. - EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2010 a $10.00 fee
will be charged for filing the affidavit form.
The Board receives no public funding. Operations
are financed through an annual levy on all licensed attorneys, from other CLE
filing charges, and from course accreditation application